What Happens When You Block Someone?

Blocking someoneSocial media has completely changed the way people communicate and interact these days. But with so many people using social media, it is important to remember that you won’t always be everyone’s favorite. There is a line between feedback and criticism and outright abusive behavior. What happens when you’ve had enough of someone on your account? Easy: you block them. But what does this really mean? Learn more about what happens after you block someone on social media. 

 

Facebook 

Blocking someone from your Facebook profile means that they will no longer see your profile or or have access to your content. Blocking someone on Facebook is a very simple process, one that can be used to block multiple people as well. As a reminder, all social platforms encourage you to report any account that has sent threatening messages/comments or any account that is violent/ offensive/ explicit in nature. 

 

When you block someone, they won’t be able to:

  • See things you post on your profile.
  • Tag you in posts, comments or photos.
  • Invite you to events or groups.
  • Start a conversation with you.
  • Add you as a friend.

 

Once this person has been blocked, you are no longer able to view their profile or posts as well. Blocking someone completely removes them from your access. If you ever decide to unblock someone, you must send another friend request to access their content again. 

 

Instagram 

Instagram makes it easy to remove someone from your account. Once you have done so, this person will no longer be able to see your account or view any of your content. Instagram also has a “mute” feature that allows you to not see that particular account’s content, while still remaining a follower. Muting someone is not the same as blocking someone, but it is a useful tool if you do not want to block that person. 

 

When you block someone, they won’t be able to:

  • Tag you in photos or mention your username in comments 
  • Access your profile or photos
  • Send you direct messages

 

Twitter 

With Twitter being such a communication-oriented platform, bullying and offensive tweets can be shared easily. Luckily, Twitter has made blocking someone a breeze. 

 

When you block someone, they won’t be able to:

  • Follow you
  • View your Tweets when logged in on Twitter
  • Find your Tweets in search when logged in on Twitter
  • Send Direct Messages to you
  • View your following or followers lists, likes or lists when logged in on Twitter
  • View a Moment you’ve created when logged in on Twitter
  • Add your Twitter account to their lists
  • Tag you in a photo

 

When it comes to protecting your profile, blocking someone is a great way to remove negative comments or conversations from your account. Don’t worry: when you block someone, regardless of the platform, Twitter never notifies the account owner! 

 

 

Did you know that the brain reacts the same way to rejection and hurtful comments as it does to physical pain. 

 

 

Do you need to start marketing your company on social media, but aren’t sure how to get started? Or maybe you’ve been posting content, but can’t seem to get the results you want.

 

CLICK HERE to schedule a complimentary 30-minute digital marketing audit.

 

 

Follow KWSM Team:
KWSM is a digital marketing agency made up of journalists. We specialize in social media management, website design and video. Our offices are located in Orange County, CA and Atlanta, GA, but we serve clients all over the country. Read More